Home News Sports Prep LaFayette athletes honored at sports banquet

LaFayette athletes honored at sports banquet


An outstanding year of sports at LaFayette High School came to a close this past Tuesday at the school’s annual sports banquet. Over the past school year, the Bulldogs captured two AHSAA Class 2A runner-up trophies and the boys’ track team captured the first state championship in the sport in school history. It was truly a remarkable season and the athletes and coaches were honored at the banquet for their hard work and dedication.

Not only did the boys’ track and field cap their season with a state title, but the girls accomplished the best finish in school history as well. They earned the 2A runner-up trophy at the State Meet on May 3rd and 4th. At the banquet, Coach Don Turner recognized his two MVP’s from each team.

Bria Huguley was named the girls MVP. She won two individual state titles at the State Meet, the 100m dash and 200m dash. She also earned two silver medals in the long jump and triple jump.

On the boys side, Joe Vines was named the MVP. He also won two individual titles in the 110m hurdles and 300m hurdles.

The track team wasn’t the only LHS squad with a strong season, as the boys’ varsity basketball team capped a miraculous season with a runner-up finish in 2A. The year included the Northeast Regional title and a semi-finals win over Elba. Rather than giving out individual awards, Coach Obadiah Threadgill named his entire team as MVP’s. “It’s the first time I’ve ever done anything like that,” he said. “But it’s also the first time I’ve ever been around a team like this. We couldn’t have gotten as far as we did without everyone on the team.”

The team consisted of Trevond Barnes, Damien Paige, Qua Boyd, Quan Whitlow, Justin Griner, Tyric Davis,  Cordeski Floyd, Jalen Davis, Kentavious Landers, Kaminski Bledsoe, TeQuarri Whitlow, Jeremy Vines and Creigory Greer.

In varsity girls basketball, Coach Michael Bratcher gave out two individual awards. Cyneldra Busby was named the team’s defensive MVP, while Nia Minor was named the Lady Bulldogs’ offensive MVP.

In varsity football, outgoing Coach Steve Coker recognized three athletes for their play on the gridiron this year. Quarterback Qua Boyd was named the team’s overall MVP. Receiver Joe Vines earned offensive player of the year honors and linebacker Kwon Ross was named the team’s defensive player of the year.

On the baseball diamond, Coach Michael Pattillo handed out three individual awards. The Bulldogs’ offensive MVP was Kentrell Holloway. The defensive MVP was Okoye Williams and the team’s most improved player was Quintavious Whitlow.