Home News Local New Council takes office

New Council takes office


Three new members were sworn into their LaFayette City Council posts during a special organizational meeting on Monday night in City Hall.

Newly elected mayor Barry Moody and councilmen Michael Ellis (District D) and Terry Mangram (District A), along with current council members Tammie Williams (District E), David Ennis (District B) and Stevie Rowe (District C) took their oaths of office. District Judge Calvin Milford swore each of the six council members into their respective offices. It was the first full quorum for the LaFayette City Council in several months.

Following a prayer from LaFayette First Baptist Church Pastor Bill Hand, Mayor Moody made a statement to the council and citizens of LaFayette. “I’m very excited over the opportunity and challenges we face,” he said. “Each one of us is going to do everything to make sure we work hard together to make, what I’ve always said, a good city to live in, we’re going to make it better and there’s not a person sitting in here that doesn’t believe that. We’ve got to learn to work together, this council, and I’m ready. I’m ready to roll up my sleeves and go to work.”

The first order of business in the special meeting for Moody and the new council was to suspend the rules in order to approve Ordinance #428, regarding the orders of procedures for the council meeting. Motions to suspend the rules and adopt the ordinance were approved unanimously on roll call votes.

Councilwoman Williams will serve another term as mayor pro-tem after the council unanimously approved Moody’s recommendation to re-appoint her to the position. The council also approved 10 other appointments for city positions, with a stipulation that includes a 90-day evaluation period. Those appointments were Louis Davidson as City Clerk, Kenneth Vines as Police Chief/Public Safety Director, William Gray as Fire Chief, Walter Goodman as Streets/Cemetary/Sanitantion/VMD Superintendent, Mary Kyles as Nutrition Center Manager, Debbie Hudson as License Inspector, Mac Tucker as City Attorney, Randall Norred as Electrical Superintendent, Katie Hill as Water and Wastewater Superintendent and Jeffrey Williams as Water Distribution and Water Collection Superintendent.

The council approved Moody’s recommendation for council committees, but there was some disagreement on one issue. Councilman Ellis said he would like to be on the Police and Fire Committee, citing his 20-plus years of law enforcement experience. Councilman Ennis brought up the possibility of approving the committee’s at the next meeting. No action was taken and a motion was made to approve the recommendation and passed by a 4-2 vote with Ellis and Councilman Rowe voting no.

The 2012-2016 council committees are as follows- Police and Fire Committee: Williams (chair), Mangram and Ennis; Utilities Committee: Mangram (chair), Williams and Ennis; Streets and Sanitation Committee: Rowe (chair), Ennis and Ellis; Parks, Recreation and Cemeteries Committee: Ellis (chair), Rowe and Mangram; Finance, Administrations and Community Development: Ennis (chair), Williams and Mangram.

In other business, the council:

•Authorized the removal of former mayor Matthew Hurst and former District A councilman Cornelius Reese from signature cards at Farmers and Merchants Bank and BB&T Bank. They also approved new depositories with each bank to include the new council members.

•Rescheduled the regular November 12 council meeting to November 19 due to the conflict with Veterans’ Day.