Home News Next Tuesday is Election Day

Next Tuesday is Election Day


By Alton Mitchell

In less than a week big changes will be coming in the political atmosphere as the November 8th elections draws near. Many eyes have been on the Presidential election between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. However Chambers County has a handful of local elections that voters must decide. These races include deciding who will represent the County in areas such as school superintendent, county commission positions, and District Attorney.

One of the most watched races in the County will be between Bill Harris and D. Jeremy Duerr. The two men are running head to head for Chambers County District Attorney. Both men bring a unique resume to the table in the election. The two candidates have both been practicing attorneys in the area with roots in law. The winner of this election will serve as District Attorney for Alabama’s Fifth Judicial Circuit which includes Chambers, Macon, Randolph, and Tallapoosa Counties.

Another highly watched race in the County will be the race for Chambers County School Superintendent. Dr. Kelli Hodge is seeking re-election to the position of Chambers County School Superintendent. Dr. Hodge is facing longtime educator Winford Lee Ashmore who is seeking the position as Chambers County next School superintendent.

In the County District 2 voters will elect their new County Commissioner. The race will be between Douglas Jones and Roger Carlisle. District 2 is made up of a large portion of western and central Chambers County including a large portion of LaFayette. The winner of this race will have a significant impact on the local area.

In addition to the local races several state sponsored amendments will be in the hands of voters to decide on Super Tuesday. These amendments include Amendment 6 which could change the impeachment processes of elected officials throughout the state is handled or keep it the sae as was first approved in 1901. Polls throughout Chambers County open on Tuesday November 8th for registered voters.