Home News Local Primary election set for Tuesday , June 3rd

Primary election set for Tuesday , June 3rd


Chambers County voters will join voters statewide next Tuesday, June 3 to cast their ballots in the Republican and Democratic primaries.

In the primaries, citizens must declare whether they want to vote as a Democrat or Republican.

Both party ballots will also contain a local special election for the renewal of a one-cent educational sales tax for Chambers County’s public schools. The tax has been in effect for 36 years, and if approved in the special election, would be extended for an additional 30 years. The funds from the tax are divided based on enrollment of the local public schools. The Chambers County School District receives 82 percent of the funds, while Lanett City Schools receive 18 percent.

The Republican ballot includes several races of interest for Chambers County voters, including District 13 State Senate, District 37 State House and District 38 State House seats.

Incumbent District 13 Senator Gerald Dial is facing opposition from Tim Sprayberry in the Republican primaries. The winner will face Darrell Turner in the general election, as Turner is unopposed on the Democratic ticket. Longtime legislator and LaFayette native Bill Fuller has also announced his intentions to run as an Independent for the District 13 seat.

Both incumbents representing Chambers County in the State House have chosen not to seek reelection, and both races are contested on the Republican ticket. In District 37, Bob Fincher will face T. Bryant Whatley for the nomination. The winner will face uncontested Democrat Josh Burns in the general election. Guy Kelly has will also be seeking the seat running as an Independent in the general election. The winner will replace longtime legislator Richard Laird, who has chosen to retire when his term expires.

In District 38, Isaac Whorton and Randy Price are competing for the spot vacated by the retiring DuWayne Bridges. There is no Democratic candidate for the seat, so the winner of the Republican primary will be the next District 38 Representative.

County voters will also decide on the Republican nominee in the United States House of Representatives, 3rd District, on Tuesday. Incumbent Mike Rogers is seeking to retain his office against Thomas Casson. The winner in the Republican primary will face Democrat Jesse Smith in the general election.

While there are several Chambers County offices that will be contested in the November general election, there is only one local race on the primary ballot.

Chad Roberts and Jimmy Allen will square off for the Republican nomination for the office of Chambers County Sheriff. The winner will face incumbent Sheriff Sid Lockhart in the general election.

There are seven state offices on the Republican ballot. For Governor, Stacy Lee George and Bob Starkey are seeking to grab the party nomination against incumbent Robert Bentley. Stan Cooke is facing incumbent Kay Ivey in the race for Lieutenant Governor. Secretary of State Jim Bennett is not seeking reelection this year and three Republicans, Reese McKinney, John Merrill and Jim Perdue, are vying for the party nomination.

Republican voters will also have to vote for their party’s nomination for State Auditor, Public Service Commission, Places No. 1 and 2, and State Board of Education, District No. 2.

The Democratic ballot is very short for Chambers County voters and includes no local races. The only race on the ballot is for the Democratic nomination for Governor between Kevin Bass and Parker Griffith.

There are several Chambers County offices that will be on the ballot in the general election on Nov. 4, including the offices of Coroner, Revenue Commissioner, three County Commission seats and two Board of Education seats. Each incumbent has qualified for those positions, but only a few will be contested. On the democratic ticket, Coroner Jeff Jones, Revenue Commissioner Wendy Williams, Board of Education District 2 representative Clifford Lyons and District 3 Commissioner Joe Blanks have qualified for reelection. District 5 Commissioner David Eastridge, District 6 Commissioner Debbie Wood and Board of Education District 2 representative Mary Terry have qualified for reelection on the Republican ticket.

Eugene Blair will oppose Blanks in District 3 on the Republican ticket. Eastridge will face opposition from Democrat Johnny Yates in District 5.

If a runoff is necessary for any race following the June 3 primary, it will take place July 15.